Tie Your Shoestrings Here

Fighting Normalcy One Post at a Time

The Obligatory Post

As a media communication student and as this blog was set up for the sole purpose of earning my 60% in Net Communications, I am contractually abide to have one sole post that integrates theory with my theme: mainly weddings. I will be boring, stuffy and academic. No one will read this post aside from my tutor (you know who you are). So this post is dedicated to my lovely, wonderful tutor who had his ear nagged off by my crazy but remarkably managed to keep his sanity.

The internet. This great digital sphere that we have come to associate with daily life was not something that came into prominence until the 2000’s. Where would we be today if we didn’t have Youtube to watch videos of silly cats stalking humans? If we didn’t have a Facebook page that kept us in the loop about what the good Lord is doing up there amongst the white clouds? Or Twitter in which we can ‘harmlessly’ self-promote? And blogs, let’s not forget blogs especially my hometown’s greatest blogger in the whole blogosphere: Xiaxue? I know I couldn’t survive without Tumblr. But there are some reasons to be concerned with the eventual digitalising of our lives.

I don’t have a problem with the internet. Not at all. I couldn’t care less whether or not you are going out for a party this evening and you got so drunk that you decided to take a photo of your own vomit. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m dependent on the internet but I’m not living my life according to it. And most shockingly of all, I don’t have a social media presence. That’s why I’m comparatively better off than other people but we’ve all become involved in the attention deficit economy that the internet has spawned. Dinner with friends usually turn out into near homicidal affairs because they’ve been absorbed in their iPhones or Samsungs while I’m sitting there waiting for someone to talk back to me. Attention is something that has to be cultivated. In our increasingly connected world, we have the television on as your checking Facebook updates on your phone and reading the latest post by Prez Hilton on your computer. I hate how lazy we’ve become in devoting our attention to things. The increasing trend of just inviting your wedding guests via Facebook worries me, this just shows how entirely dependent people can be on the internet and how lazy they have since become.

I don’t want to live in a society where we become slaves to the network. People we need to rage against the machine! Solutions are tough and tricky when it comes to this subject because we cannot be completely cut off from the network system. Time will tell if we have evolved or devolved amongst our own kind.

That’s it from me. Academic rant over. In thanks for actually going through all this rubbish, have a video of a new born deer on me. The sweet thing even squeaks, *melting*.

One comment on “The Obligatory Post

  1. Pingback: Assessment « Tie Your Shoestrings Here

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 25, 2012 by .
